August 24, 2015 (Toronto) – At The Jockey Club of Canada annual Meeting of the Members held in June at Woodbine Race Track in Toronto, Ontario, one new Steward and eight new Members were appointed to The Jockey Club of Canada in 2015.

The Jockey Club of Canada is honoured to appoint Yvonne Schwabe to the Board of Stewards for 2015 replacing Harvey Warner who had served his term under the Steward rotation by-law implemented in 2006.

Yvonne Schwabe joins Chief Steward, Jeff Begg, and Stewards Mark Casse, Frank Di Giulio Jr., Nick Eaves, Geordie Hendrie, Robert Krembil, James Lawson, Charles Overland, Glenn Sikura and John Unger on the Board of Stewards until the Annual Meeting in 2016.

Continuing with the Jockey Club of Canada’s initiative to include new members who are passionate and dedicated to thoroughbred racing in Canada, eight new members were appointed to the Club in 2015:

The newly elected members of The Jockey Club of Canada for 2015 are:
Arika Everatt-Meeuse, Jayson Horner, Ian Howard, Darren MacDonald, Dory Newell, Rick Pettifer, Ernie Semersky and Jason Teague.

Click Here for bios on each

The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as the international representative of the Canadian Thoroughbred industry. The mission of The Jockey Club of Canada is to promote and maintain a high standard for Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada at a level which is recognized internationally for the benefit of all those interested in the sport including the general public by operations and services such as, but not limited to: evaluating all Graded, Listed and Black-type races in Canada annually; conducting the annual Sovereign Awards for outstanding achievement in Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada; maintaining a field office in Canada for the Jockey Club of the United States and the Jockey Club Registry Service; and by representing Canada as a Member of the IFHA.