45th Annual Sovereign Awards to be Announced Virtually on Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 8:00 p.m. (EST)

The Jockey Club of Canada will present the 45th Annual Sovereign Awards, honouring Canada’s champions and recognizing their 2019 outstanding achievements in Canadian Thoroughbred Racing and Breeding on Tuesday, May 19, 2020. Winners of the twenty-four Sovereign Awards categories will be announced live during a virtual ceremony, at 8:00 p.m. (EST).

We invite you to join us in watching the ceremony streamed live at Woodbine.com and HPItv Canada. A digital program will be available for download at https://jockeyclubcanada.com prior to the event. 

We would like to thank our dedicated Sponsors and Advertisers for continuing to support the Sovereign Awards during these difficult times.

2019 Sovereign Awards Sponsors 

Platinum Plus: Woodbine Entertainment

Platinum: HBPA of Ontario

Gold Sponsors: Ontario Racing; Sam-Son Farm

Silver Sponsors: Earle I Mack; Manitoba Jockey Club

Bronze Sponsors: Anderson Farms; Casse Racing; Cavalier Transportation; CTHS Ontario; Document Direction Limited; Sean and Dorothy Fitzhenry; Great Canadian Gaming Corporation (GCGC); Goldman, Sloan, Nash and Harber LLP(GSNH); Highfield Investment Limited; Hill ‘n’ Dale; Josham Farms Limited; Purina; The Jockey Club; WinStar


Due to the closure of non-essential businesses in Ontario, effective Tuesday, March 23, 2020, The Jockey Club of Canada office has temporarily close to public access and JCC members until further notice. Our staff will be working remotely with continued response to voicemail email. If you have any questions or would like to get in touch with our staff please email jockeyclubcanada@gmail.com or leave a voicemail at 416-675-7756.

45th Annual Sovereign Awards Postponed Until Further Notice.

In response to the growing concerns about the coronavirus, COVID-19, The Jockey Club of Canada’s 45th Annual Sovereign Awards, scheduled for April 16, 2020, will be postponed until further notice. 

The health and safety of our finalists, our guests and their families are of the utmost importance and we feel this is a necessary precaution in the current situation. We would like to assure all our stakeholders that we will continue to monitor the situation as it evolves and will provide regular updates throughout. 

Once an alternate date has been confirmed the Sovereign Awards ceremony will take place in its entirety and the winners of each Sovereign Awards category will be announced during the ceremony.

45th Annual Sovereign Awards Finalists Announced

2019 Finalists

Listed in alphabetical order, the finalists are:

Champion Two-Year-Old Female:

Curlin’s Voyage
Infinite Patience

Champion Two-Year-Old Male:

Dotted Line
Mr. Hustle
Muskoka Gold

Champion Three-Year-Old Female: 

Amalfi Coast
Desert Ride
Hidden Grace

Champion Three-Year-Old Male:

Global Access
Tone Broke

Champion Older Main Track Female:

Here’s Hannah 
Lift Up
She’s the Berries

Champion Older Main Track Male:

Mr Ritz
Pink Lloyd
Special Forces

Champion Female Turf Horse:

Amalfi Coast
Holy Helena
Starship Jubilee

Champion Male Turf Horse:

El Tormenta
Global Access
Tiz a Slam

Champion Female Sprinter:

Amalfi Coast
Here’s Hannah
Sister Peacock
Summer Sunday

Champion Male Sprinter:

Pink Lloyd
Silent Poet

Outstanding Broodmare:

Avie’s Empire 
Loving Vindication

Outstanding Breeder:

Chiefswood Stables Limited 
Sam-Son Farm
Tall Oaks Farm

Outstanding Owner:

Chiefswood Stables Limited 
Sam-Son Farm
Stronach Stables 

Outstanding Trainer:

Kevin Attard 
Mark E. Casse

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey:

Shavon Belle
Daisuke Fukumoto
Kazushi Kimura  

Outstanding Jockey:

Eurico Rosa Da Silva
Rafael Manuel Hernandez 
Patrick Husbands

Horse of the Year:

Finalists to be announced during the 45th Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony

2019 Media Finalists

Listed in alphabetical order, the finalists are:

Writing Category:

  • Dave Briggs – Royal Victory for the Quintessential “small guy”
  • Chris Lomon – Thoroughbred Racing’s Beautiful Bond
  • Hayley Morrison – Walcott Worry-Free After Surviving Brain Tumour

Digital Audio/visual and Broadcast Category:

  • Horse Racing Alberta – Canadian Derby Invader
  • Horse Racing Radio Network – 160th Queen’s Plate
  • Woodbine Entertainment Group – The Queen’s Plate

Photograph Category:

  • Michael Bye – Cyclone Dan Winner of the 3rd Race J. Gomez up
  • Rebecca Brown – Lenny Seecharan, Hastings 2019
  • Alex Urosovic – Ricoh Woodbine Mile

The judging for the 2019 Media Awards was performed by Professors of the Journalism Program at the School of Media Studies & Information Technology, Humber Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Charles E. Fipke to be honored with the E.P. Taylor Award of Merit and Harvey Warner to be honoured with the Special Sovereign Award

The Jockey Club of Canada is pleased to announce that Charles E. Fipke will be presented with the E. P. Taylor Award of Merit and Harvey Warner will be presented with the Special Sovereign Award in recognition of their outstanding commitment to the Thoroughbred Industry in Canada. 

Selected by the Jockey Club of Canada’s Stewards, the E.P. Taylor Award of Merit honours those who have accomplished outstanding individual achievements and have made a significant contribution to the thoroughbred industry in Canada. Charles E. Fipke has been involved in the Canadian Thoroughbred Industry for close to forty years. Among his accomplishments he has bred and owned three Sovereign Award-winners including 2008 Champion Three-Year-Old Male and winner of the 2008 Queen’s Plate, Not Bourbon; 2010 Champion Older Female, Impossible Time; and 2003 Champion Male Turf Horse, Perfect Soul who went on to become a successful sire. Also, Mr. Fipke bred and owned a number of other successful racehorses including the winner of the 2011 Breeder’s Cup Filly and Mare Turf GI, Perfect Shirl. 

Selected by the Jockey Club of Canada’s Stewards, the Special Sovereign Award recognizes significant contribution to the Canadian Thoroughbred Industry. Harvey Warner has been actively involved in the thoroughbred industry in Canadasince 1971. Throughout this time he has served as the President of the Winnipeg Horseman’s Club, spent time as a member of the Manitoba Horse Council Board and sat on the Board of the HBPA of Manitoba. In 1994 Mr. Warner was a driving force behind the formation of the Manitoba Jockey Club which assumed ownership and operations of Assiniboia Downs. Currently, Mr. Warner is the President of the Manitoba Jockey Club and a Steward for The Jockey Club of Canada.

45th Annual Sovereign Awards Sponsors






Tickets to the 45th Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony are $250 each, with tables of ten discounted to $2000. Early-Bird tickets are also available for a discounted price of $225 until March 15, 2020. Tickets can be purchased through the website or by contacting the Jockey Club of Canada office at 416-675-7756 or jockeyclubcanada@gmail.com

The Jockey Club of Canada was founded in 1973 by E.P. Taylor to serve as the international representative of the Canadian Thoroughbred industry. The mission of The Jockey Club of Canada is to promote and maintain a high standard for Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada at a level which is recognized internationally for the benefit of all those interested in the sport including the general public by operations and services such as, but not limited to: evaluating all Graded, Listed and Black-type races in Canada annually; conducting the annual Sovereign Awards for outstanding achievement in Thoroughbred racing and breeding in Canada; maintaining a field office in Canada for the Jockey Club of the United States and the Jockey Club Registry Service; and by representing Canada as a Member of the IFHA.